Xmobar configs

Good Day Community,

I am struggling with xmobar, since I am very new to haskell. Any one here familiar with it?
I just want to create a simple xmobar setup?

Thank You

Xmobar on Arch Wiki - basic configuration

Xmonad configurations - - some are using xmobar and provide the configuration.

Xmobar on git - scroll down to configuration example

There are a lot of ways to configure xmobar; best to just do a search and find one you like. The Arch forum has a dedicated “Show us your Xmonad set up” thread with links to xmobar configurations.

Xmobar is/was broken - gets covered by the windows.

I’ll hop in my Way-Back machine later and try to locate my old config.

Are you using it with Xmonad?

Great! Thanks Packrat.

Nah, I am using it with Openbox. Just playing around, but there’s a few things I want before I can switch from polybar. Looking for a bar that is really basic

What are you trying to show? Piping conky to dzen2 is pretty straight forward and doesn’t require haskell. There are also the Arch user contributed bars like lemonbar. Or is the underlying goal here to learn some haskell?

I’ll look into lemonbar as well.

The goal now is to get a basic bar with basic features going. This is what I have thus far.

All I want to add is a workspace indicator, Volume indicator and maybe a wifi/lan clickable network selector icon that executes nmtui when clicked.

I have found this, but am struggling to write code for this in the config

.6.22 Volume Mixer Element Args RefreshRate

• Aliases to the mixer name and element name separated by a colon. Thus, Volume "default" "Master" [] 10 can be used as %default:Master% .
  • Args: default monitor arguments. Also accepts:
    • -O string On string
      • The string used in place of <status> when the mixer element is on. Defaults to “[on]”.
      • Long option: --on
    • -o string Off string
      • The string used in place of <status> when the mixer element is off. Defaults to “[off]”.