[SOLVED] Polybar does not start with new user account

Hi All,

although I am not new to Linux I am new to ArchLabs and also to Openbox, so I am even not sure, where to locate my problem exactely. I freshly installed the newest iso of Archlabs (28072018) two days ago and found, that after adding a new user (I used adduser as described in the ArchWiki), the top bar (Polybar) does not start. It will also not start, if I do “Preferences - Polybar - start Polybar”. In fact, I tried everything (include new installation) to start this bar in another account (include giving that account sudo privilege) than the first set up during installation (in this account, the bar always starts without problem). I do not have any idea anymore, how to solve this and also did not find anything via google, so I would be very happy about a hint. Is this maybe a bug? Or am I stupid?

Did you get a default openbox session with no wallpaper etc …?

I had this happen yesterday. Nothing from /etc/skel was copied over because /home/username was not created. Applications (like gimp) fail to start because the ~/.gimp can’t be created; the user has no place to write configurations.

First I deleted the user I created (may not be required, I went the “nuke it from orbit route”)

Then as root create a new user using the full line command (from Arch Wiki):

# useradd -m -g initial_group -G additional_groups -s login_shell username

the -m creates the /home/username – I think that’s where the bug (in adduser?) is.

Real example, I usually use:

# useradd -m -s /bin/bash -U -G wheel,users,audio,video,cdrom,input <username>

so my Void and ArchLabs users all have the same privileges (the cdrom group didn’t exist in ArchLabs).

Dear PackRat,