Questions

Hi there, I am new to ArchLabs and it looks quite interesting and I am going to download and install this OS.

I just have a couple of questions. First of all, does this OS collect any personal information or do any applications collect any personal information and send it off to a server, if so, then is it possible to disable this?

2nd of all, the minimal requirements that this OS needs is a 512 MB of RAM. If I were to use less than 512 MB of RAM, would this OS still be bootable (I know it won’t be very usable)?

1 Like

I don t think that AL collects datas of some sort & as for the 2nd question at under 512 MB of ram it would be quite a bit on the slow side.

1 Like

Thanks for that

1 Like

No problem, just wait on some other advices about ram uses, might give you a hand.

1 Like

Hi @anon37670755 and welcome to ArchLabs :slightly_smiling_face:

Yes, minimal recommended memory is 512mb although, if you’re able to run and install from the live system, you should be ok for modest usage. Your biggest obstacle will of course, be web browsing.

The developers of ArchLabs are friends, competent at what they do and stand up people. No personal information is collected or used inappropriately.

Have fun.

2 Likes

Thanks bro =D

There was a video where somebody with Windows 10 tested the least amount of RAM reuiqred for it to boot up. And it was around 140 MB. Can this OS beat the very bare minimum requirement?

1 Like

@anon37670755 I can only tell you what my systems use. @boot, my desktop idles in around 230mb although it’s always a little heavy as I have other services running. On both laptops, memory consumption @boot is much less, around 180mb +or-. ArchLabs default now does not include a display (login) manager however lightdm is offered during the post install welcome screen (al-hello). I’d suggest not installing lightdm and keeping extra services at a bare minimum.

1 Like

Thanks for that mate =D