Printing with epson

Hi!

This is my first time asking for help. Anyway, i can’t get my cups to print on epson xp-615, via usb… i’ve tried everything, use to be on debian, so, well that’s it. thanks.
I’m using Archlabs, lts, on thinkpad x230.

I had CUPS working by being root in terminal. It was the only way on my end, Can be different for other people.

Also from terminal , results from this command: lsusb

Edit: You might have to install gutenprint also.

Edit2: This link might also help you out: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/CUPS/Printer-specific_problems#Epson

Hi, thank you for resonding, did all that research since 2 weeks, can’t get it, for what it worth, archlabs has been the best out of the box distro exept, has i see, for the printing part, crunchbang use to do good. Well, any way, it is a good distro, powerfull one, but can’t print… yet.

@martinlordarch , that sux that you can t print in there.

Have you checked results from

lsusb

from terminal if your computer sees the printer !

Just to be sure, benefit of the doubt, you meant gutenprint not glutenprint, hein?

1 Like

@martinlordarch , yep typo there, will fix it on previous post, thx for reminding.

no worries, thanks a lot anyway…

Also, what have you done already in order to have printing to work, might help also.Just stick around, some other members might give you a hand here.

Yes, that is the turning point. I’ve been on linux for years, but mostly copy paste is my way to do, usaualy it work, and searching around, work for me, but this is the first time i am in front of this wall. I’ve done so much thing, don’t know exactly wich one i’ve tried. gutenprint, fooprint, cups, i’ve tried all the option from cups, even the network printing, but cannot get back for no one, even me, true all the steps and misteps.;;;;

Ok cool, sometimes some don t even try anything beforehand, it s why I asked.