POP!_OS (Good clean fun)

For those who are interested in my inability to maintain a stable desktop environment…

I have been playing around with 21.10 and added a few tweaks to the standard desktop. The tweaks include:

(2) conkies with system status & keybinding info (to help my old memory).

jgmenu to provide even quicker and easier access to any/all apps

yad to provide quick access to system functions & maintenance activities.

I, also, added 9 workspaces with apps opening in their targeted space. This functionality also includes keybinds to all workspaces & redirects of apps to a new designated workspace (manually).

All functionality is available via keybindings. If there is interest I’ll write-up a tutorial, provide code, dotfiles, etc. Otherwise this has just been ‘old fashioned’ fun.

6 Likes

Nicee @manyroads

While Gnome-anything isn’t my cup of tea, this does look good!

@Chris the reason I started playing with Pop!OS is that they are moving Cosmic (away from Gnome) and working on building a new DE (Cosmic-Rust). The Cosmic desktop itself is quite excellent and fast (but not really low memory). I’d like to see what they come up with down the road. Like with Solus, it looks like the DE landscape might be changing.

1 Like

So this is a glimpse of what they are putting out? If so, I thought that was a good bit off in the future yet.

Here’s all I can offer… Oh, Wow! Pop!_OS Linux Devs Are Creating a New Rust-based Desktop Environment - It's FOSS News

EDIT: and look here…

EDIT-EDIT: @Chris this may be worth checking out as well.

1 Like

Hard at work again @manyroads ! Keep it on.

Can you let us know when you find a way to ditch the dirt theme … from the encryption and login screens?

What dirt screen? Do you mean the login screen? I don’t see that one because I use autologin.

EDIT: This allows you to tweak gdm login… https://www.linuxuprising.com/2021/05/how-to-change-gdm3-login-screen-greeter.html

1 Like