ArchLabs Linux

Polybar pkg module (updates.sh) not updating

Hi, I have to first say, I love this distro! My first archlinux distro, and I dont think I would ever switch to anything else! I have used multiple DEs as well as WM, and I decided to stay with openbox, its truly amazing with polybar and plank, etc, lots of customization’s, which I love! I am a beginner/intermediate linux user, I am trying to learn more, so any help and guidance would be greatly appreciated!

The issue I am having is that the updates module in polybar will not update if it has less than 1 update available. For example, it says I have this many number of updates, I perform the updates, but the reading on the bar is stuck at 1…I am copying information here, to see if anyone can help me:

This is from the polybar modules.conf file:

;;;;;;;;;
;; PKG ;;
;;;;;;;;;
[module/pkg]
type = custom/script
exec = updates.sh
exec-if = "ping -q -w 2 -c 1 176.34.135.167 > /dev/null"
label-padding = 1
label = %output%
tail = true

This is from my updates.sh file:

#!/usr/bin/env bash

BAR_ICON=""
NOTIFIED=0
NOTIFY_ICON=/usr/share/icons/gnome/32x32/apps/system-software-update.png

get_total_updates()
{
    UPDATES=$(checkupdates 2>/dev/null | wc -l)
}

while true; do
    # print the icon first to avoid gibberish in polybar
    echo $BAR_ICON

get_total_updates

# notify user of updates
    if (( NOTIFIED == 0 )) && hash notify-send >/dev/null 2>&1; then
        if (( UPDATES > 50 )); then
            notify-send -u critical -i $NOTIFY_ICON "Updates Available" "$UPDATES packages"
        elif (( UPDATES > 25 )); then
            notify-send -u normal -i $NOTIFY_ICON "Updates Available"  "$UPDATES packages"
        elif (( UPDATES > 2 )); then
            notify-send -u low -i $NOTIFY_ICON "Updates Available" "$UPDATES packages"
        fi
        NOTIFIED=1
    fi

# when there are updates available
    # every 10 seconds another check for updates is done
    while (( UPDATES > 0 )); do