Offline files

I am looking for alternative options that others may be doing for the above topic.

Scenario:

I really learned to appreciate the “off-line files” option that worked fairly well under Windows. How to simulate something like that so mobile users can have access to files that they might normally access via a share (as I do with Samba on my Debian server). But I also wanted something that would poll for added/deleted/moved/changed files PLUS this needed to be monitored recursively.

So - here’s what I come up with (Standard disclaimer: I am not a coder nor do I play one in real life, so do not go into code-shock when you view possible hideous syntax)

I installed inotified-tools that included inotifywait (mind you, the key I needed was recursiveness)
The following is a script (I called dsync.sh) I threw together

#!/bin/bash
while inotifywait -r -e create -e delete -e modify -e moved_from -e moved_to /home/chris/Documents;
	do notify-send "Documents have been changed...";
	sleep 30;
	rsync -avze ssh /home/chris/Documents/ chris@moodaddy:/media/Data/Users/chris/;
	notify-send "Synchronising documents...";
done

Before running the script against my /home/chris/Documents dir, I needed to create a key so that I would not be prompted for the SSH password then copy that info to the Debian server.
I’m leaving some of the bits out simply because I know that most of you know what to be done :slight_smile:

The “sleep” I included (and can be varied) to allow for additional changes if needed. If I would be working with many files, I could simply expand that 30 seconds to nearly infinity if need be. The reason for this; so that syncing does not happen instantly/or multiple times etc.

Moving on, I commented out my access to the samba share that I had within /etc/fstab, unmounted /home/chris/Documents then copied the data from the server to my laptop.