Nwg-panel

Welcome Brothers in Sway on this forum. Yes, you two. :rofl: My latest work seems to be ready for beta testing:

I have been using sway since 2019 and find it the most comfortable working environment, but… Have you ever missed all the graphical bells and whistles in your panel, we used to have in tint2? It happens to me. That’s why I decided to try to code a GTK-based panel, including best features from my two favourites: Waybar and tint2.

I am writing this all to ask you for help at testing. For me, the program works stably and without problems, but there are definitely many bugs to be discovered. Thanks in advance!

7 Likes

Top work again @nwg

Nice work @nwg :slight_smile:

I’ll try it out soon once I’ve finished messing with DragonFly BSD…

Thanks in advance! I’ve had some feedback from Reddit, but fairly not enough. I’m working on config GUI at the moment.

1 Like

nwg-panel 0.1.0 released, published in AUR

The first beta release comes with the config GUI:

4 Likes

@nwg is it primarily tested against sway or wayfire?

Sway. Usability on other wlroots compositor is limited, until someone develops a wlr-taskbar.

3 Likes

Top again @nwg

nwg-panel 0.1.1 released

• autotiling integration added
  • minor bug fixed
2 Likes

Nice work.

1 Like

Top @nwg

Built an Alpine package for v0.1.1 but I see this error when I try to run it:

~$ nwg-panel 
pylsa module not found, will try amixer
Running on sway
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/nwg-panel", line 33, in <module>
    sys.exit(load_entry_point('nwg-panel==0.1.0', 'gui_scripts', 'nwg-panel')())
  File "/usr/lib/python3.8/site-packages/nwg_panel/main.py", line 340, in main
    cc = Controls(panel["controls-settings"], panel["position"], panel["controls"],
  File "/usr/lib/python3.8/site-packages/nwg_panel/modules/controls.py", line 73, in __init__
    self.popup_window = PopupWindow(position, alignment, settings, width, monitor=monitor, icons_path=self.icons_path)