New AL user switching from Bunsen

Evening all,

I’ve been using and loving BL for a bout 12 months now. Lots of time and effort involved in theming and configuring made this my go-to distribution.

However, I have a problem. Purchased a new PC a few days a go, a current gen Intel NUC released in Q4 2018 and sadly the hardware requires something fresher than BL. Doesn’t boot from the USB, and even if it did I’d need to swap out the Kernel and update Mesa - which kind of defeats the point of running Debian stable branch.

I always theme my BL using he files pinched, sorry borrowed, from ArchLabs so I’m thinking of making the switch. My reticence concerns the Arch base.
I’m not a noob in the sense that I can fix most issues I’ve encountered with Debian and am perfectly happy playing around in config files…I learned most of this from Bunsen.

Getting to the point, it’s the often seen comments about Arch breaking after updates that concerns me, so I thought I’d seek the opinion of those actually running it full time. Are such comments exaggerated?
What is the best update regime - taking them as they emerge which I know can be very frequently, or if you have a fully working system is it ok to simply hold off updates for a couple of months?

Advice greatly appreciated.

Rob

Welcome.
What I can tell you that I use for years and I feel good, if an update goes wrong, which happens rarely, you can always go back with a downgrade.
Cheers

Hi Rob, welcome to ArchLabs :grinning:

The pros and cons with regard to Arch compared to Debian are obvious and known. In all my time using Linux, I’ve only completely trashed a system three times and all were while using Debian (mainly because I pushed too hard against Debian’s conservative approach to packaging, tried to install something I should not have).