Lured by people who like mathematics and metal

Greetings
I am a software developer from South Africa. What kind of software? Well, barely working software. Brand new to Arch Labs, not new to Linux but I have been looking for a new distro ever since GNOME 3 came out probably now over a decade ago.

I love the look and feel of Arch Labs so far, it is clean and it doesn’t really get in the way. Still finding my way around it. I would like to set up this machine as a development workhorse, mostly for Java, R and Python. Seems like there are packages available for all of those so I’m looking forward to this journey!

Also the fact that pacman is the package manager. Can’t resist a pun.

Well say hi if you like and FYI if I don’t reply I am feeding my pet giraffe.

3 Likes

Welcome here.

Thank you kindly!

Welcome here, mate! Using AL daily on my web development job, everything working fine :slight_smile:

Can you share the photos here? Please :smile:

3 Likes

Uh oh.

1 Like

Be very welcome @DevilEars!!

1 Like

Hey man welcome. I do most of my stats work in R on archlabs and it runs beautifully!!

1 Like

Thanks for the welcome!

Do you run an IDE or just plain R?

Also I created a topic somewhere for noobs to get up and running. I was thinking of editing it into a goto guide for R developers once its got all it needs.

@DevilEars, How does one feed a pet giraffe?

Welcome man, from talking to people here… I’d love to see Brazil, New Zealand and have always wanted to see Africa.

2 Likes

Now that I have a better understaning of it I pretty much use Rstudio all the time. Its really easy to create packages and works bettet for my workflow.

1 Like

Welcome fellow Metalhead.

1 Like

@DevilEars what!? You don’t have a pet hyena!?:joy: Welcome aboard @DevilEars I love math, it’s probably why I went into engineering. At the time I got my degree, we had the old IBM PC and AMD 386(?) as well as the old apple 2. Here’s something that may tickle your mathematical bones: