Just came to ArchLabs, need some help NWG mostly

Hey everyone, I have been messing around with Sway over the past week and have actually grown to really love it. However there were a few things I wish it had by default so I was on EndeavourOS slowly setting my system up how I wanted it… until a accidental google search brought me here and WOW! the NWG packaging for me is like a gift from god. Thank you!

I am not a newbie but by no means an expert so questions may vary in range.

I will start with the NWG questions:

1. I want to Add a start button for nwg-drawer, I know one is setup for nwg-menu but I just don’t like it
  2. How do I remove the workstation markers (A2, and A1) on nwg-panel?
  3. How can I move the clock between the notifications and the sound icon, I tried so many things lol.
  4. Can I setup a calendar to pop up in the bottom right when I left click the time using “on-left-click”?
  5. Is it possible to add pinned icons on the nwg-panel like favorites i can just click to open?

Picture Showing what I am talking about for nwg

1. I setup with systemd always used grub and I am trying to set the kernel I compiled from linux-tkg as the boot default cannot figure it out.
  2. How do I set specific windows to always open floating and in a default set spot. take the terminal in the top left for example. I would always want my terminals opening there floating and then I can move it if I choose.
  3. What is scratchpad? Is it installed by default if not how do I get it and do I need it?
  4. Did I ask too many questions?
2 Likes

Hi @Karagra, welcome to the forum!

Great that you like it. It makes two sway users on this forum. :wink:

Neither do I. Just create a button:

and add it to proper modules:

For now you need to clear the “On workspaces” field (1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8), and remove the /tmp/autotiling file. The latest nwg-panel version includes a switch to turn autotiling markers on/off, but it’s not yet available in ArchLabs repos.