How to dual boot Archlabs and windows 7?

I am new to Arch.
So i was searching for arch based distros and i found ArchLabs.
TBH this distro is the coolest one soo far.

Been using ubiquity installer for a long time,
so I have no idea for terminal or non graphical based installers.
Please help me to install this awsome distro :slightly_smiling_face:

0 Likes

A quick question from Mr Dumbass

You’re dual booting with Windows 7?

What is your hard drive (more than one?) and partition layout?

The installer is straight forward and user friendly - ncurses based so you use arrow and tab keys instead of the mouse. Main issue for dual boot will be where you install grub.

Back up all your data first.

Remember that Windows 7 will have some small partitions for system files as well as the large partition for Windows. It’s easy to accidentally deleted one of the small ones so be careful at the partitioning stage of the install.

2 Likes

Also what would help is to know whether you’re using UEFI or legacy partition setup.
By the way welcome to Archlabs!:grin:

1 Like

it is bios/legacy
i already have a dual boot with xubuntu & windows 7
i want to erase the existing xubuntu and install archlabs

my partition look something like this
sda1 / sda2 / sda3 / sda5 / sda6

sda5 is my swap partition and sda6 is the root
so i want to erase sda6 and install archlabs
this was easy using ubiquity or calamari installer :confused:

0 Likes

@Arceus,