Hiding in the wilds - hey y'all!

Hi! I found ArchLabs by happy accident. I’ve been using Linux as much as possible since probably 2008/2009. I started with Ubuntu (doesn’t everyone?) and then was a very happy CrunchBang user for many years, used ArchBang for a while too. Completely self-taught and my terminal skills are quite rusty. My #! laptop died last summer and I didn’t have the funds or time to replace it. I was so sad when #! ended and had made some big mistakes on my last install so couldn’t install anything new (for some odd reason my UEFI (I think) had a password on it and I couldn’t change the load order anymore).

I just acquired a new-to-me mid-2010 MacBook and I’m feverishly hoping AL will install without too many difficulties (if you have any tips, I’m all ears, its a 7.1 I believe). I’m so so sick of my Windows laptop but must keep it in tiptop shape for school where they are forcing us to use a most awful software called Securexam (look it up if you want, horrible thing). My internet connect here out in the middle of nowhere is quite sketchy so I want a more secure environment for browsing and all my data work.

I’ll mainly be asking (silly) questions, drooling over the pretty screenshots and reading posts, this looks like such a lovely community! Beyond AL, I’m your regular redneck - I run a farm and work as an accountant, always listen to country music (haven’t had access to my playlist in months, surprise, Windows won’t open my files!), ride horses and sew clothes. My goal is to find a combination of software to allow me to do my entire business on Linux. I’m actively seeking a software company to get a sheep management setup that I can use without needing Windows or pen and paper.