Hi to everyone

I firstly wrote a post and now I make my presentation. Making things backwards is the story of my life…

I joined the forum un 2018 but I’ve been silent until now, reading here and there in search for solutions. I’m writing from Canary Islands. I’ve been using GNU/Linux for 24 years and I’m still a newbie!

I tried to install my first Red Hat in 1998. It broke my head, my heart and my computer, so I got back to Win98, but I keep using RH in college computers. A couple of years later I heard about a distro with graphic installer in only eight 3 1/2 disks. They call it Mandrake! And it worked like a charm.
In 2004, a crazy rich man was sending CD’s of a new distro worldwide for free… This is how I met Ubuntu. Then I tried Debian, Suse, Slack, Fedora, Mandriva, Mint… even Gentoo! About 2008 Linux becomes my main OS in my PC’s. From that, I’ve tried much other distros (Peppermint, Chackra, Bodhi, Slitaz, Knoppix, Manjaro, OpenSuse, MX, Puppy, Damm Small …)
But I was looking for a change. I wanted an OS without ornaments and superfluous decorations. No need for wobbly windows, weather widgets or other laggish stuff. I didn’t know yet, but I needed a KISS!
I came across CrunchBang and OpenBox. Then CrunchBang++, BunsenLabs aaaand finally… ArchLabs since about 2017. Now I’m using AL in all my 2 desktop PC’s, in my 2 msi laptops, in a Chuwi tablet and in a couple of VM’s. And I feel this is what I was looking for. So I’m staying.

But I’m still a noob. :man_shrugging: .

About me, I dislike lies, hypocrits and the single thought. And I like… uhmm… well… beer. Yeah, and Linux, and free speech, and The Elder Scrolls, and racing games, and baking bread… but mainly… beer.

I really hope to be helpful here and be able of contribute if I can.
I feel very comfortable with this community.

Thanks all!

6 Likes

Welcome aboard @thoronaug

Glad to see you around.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, @thoronaug! You’ll find a good bunch of beer lovers here.