Hello from Canada

Thanks for opening up and reading my Introduction. A little bit about me, I’m a Computer Science Student on Vancouver Island BC. I have been a Linux user for a few years. I have had a difficult time finding my “Distro”. I have been a pretty avid distro hopper. Using everything from straight Arch, Slackware, gentoo so on and so forth. I was on Bunsen labs for a bit, then got into awesome wm on Ubuntu, and got heavily into coding lua for my awesome desktop. I tried the 2017 arch labs release and liked it alot. But ultimately kept on hopping. I seen distrotube do his walk through on this latest version of Archlabs, and omg. I fell in love with it. The installer is really top notch, supporting all these wm’s was just so amazing, all the optional installs. It is just so well done, the color scheme is amazing. It also solves a huge problem of mine. I am an addicted tinkerer. It seriously cuts into my study time. So learning a new wm like i3 and configuring it my self was really not something I wanted to do. Anyways, I dont want to ramble for too long. This is a really great distro, and I cleared all other partitions off my laptop just for this one. And I am going to keep it that way.

Haha. We need a help group!

Welcome to the forum @mattBash!!

haha yea seriously need a help group! I’m wondering what type of contributions or help would be useful for the archlabs distro? Maybe someone who is involved in the development could divulge some more information this topic?

Glad to see another fellow BC resident, greetings from the okanagan valley.

We’re always looking for contributors, however I’m not great at dictating what to do.

What would you like to do?

I see you mentioned lua and Awesome, perhaps you’d like to keep on that and spin an awesome session?

We had an awesome option for a short while but it was removed due to configuration bugs and to relieve myself for other issues (namely the installer, which still needs work).