Hello All:)

Hello all! I’m grunge94 and I am a Linux newb. I’ve fiddled around with Ubuntu in the past but I haven’t done much with it. Currently I am in a transitioning stage wanting to pursue a career in IT, however I don’t exactly know what I want to pursue in this field. If anyone here is in the IT field I would love to hear about your occupation and experiences!

Welcome to ArchLabs! Enjoy your stay and if you need anything just reach out.

Hello @grunge94 and welcome to the forum!

Welcome aboard !

Hello and welcome !
Currently studying IT, and almost done, but can’t choose between development and networks :frowning:

Thank you!

Thanks!

Thank youu!

What do like about development the most? And what do you like about networking the most?

Welcome @grunge94! Hope you enjoy our forum. Everyone has to start somewhere, and there’s plenty of people who would be happy to help you out if you need it. :grin:

No problem @grunge94

Greetings @grunge94, fantastic to have you here! :slight_smile: Best wishes for your desire to pursue a new career.

Thank you, I appreciate it!:slight_smile:

Just pursue what is most fun! :slight_smile:

About development, it would be the fact that you build things with only basics things, really similar with Legos actually. Plus, it can be a nice headache from times to times, it’s most of the time really satisfying to create and accomplish things.
About networks, it’s more related with the fact that it requires a whole lot of knowledge to fix situations, it doesn’t seems as repeating as with Dev stuff, and it makes you look like a wizard when you speak about that with other people ^^

Interesting. How much do you know about Devops?

Not much actually, as far as I know, it aims to rejoin devs and maintainers to help building application and help with their integration in prod.
But, as project leader, it’s not what I wanna do (or at least yet), it would be more a continuing of a carrier you know.