Electronic garbage (another chance)

recycling

Do you recycle electronic equipment? Do you give another life to this? I’ve been doing it for a few years.

I currently use the following recycled equipment:

• 32bit PC: From the garbage, I only had to put one of my hard drives since it came with a monitor. It works without problem for 4 years with Arch and Kali, 4GB RAM.

• Old Acer Aspire One: From the garbage, I only needed one power supply (€ 15). Works for 3 years with #! and BunsenLabs, 2GB RAM.

• HP compaq presario “new”: From the pre-garbage, I had to buy an SSD and RAM (€ 100 in total). Works for 5 months with ArchLabs and goes like a rocket, 4GB RAM. I use it daily and I always carry it with me.

I’ve also been helping people without resources to have their own equipment, because I collected so many pieces of garbage that I could already ‘manufacture’ equipment. I don’t charge for it because they are unemployed like me and people at risk of social exclusion. I’m not a saint, I just want to change my little world, making it cleaner and more efficient, and a little more fair.

Just started recently by shopping 2nd hand devices.
I should look for a way to recycle old phones as well…

The old mobiles that still work I use them as a radio / mp3 for the bed and the bathroom. And I’ve seen the screens of the smartphones reuse them in RPi

Sounds like a good idea.

My laptops are my former s dad s ones apart from the secondhand Dell Latitude XFR D630 that I bought fairly cheap.

Great topic @Negata and good on you for helping others. We have always donated our used equipment to either a senior living facility or animal rescue in our area.

Typing this on a reconditioned X201, it’s all I need :slight_smile:

I tuned it a little. I usually use it as a server

Top job @Negata . Doesn t need to cost a fortune right

Yes @altman. And it also works very well, it’s robust

That s cool