ArchLabs Linux

BunsenLabs Transfer

Howdy!

Decided to try out Arch after using BunsenLabs for awhile. As a long-time Debian user and fan of the APT package management system I was preparing for an adjustment period but was thrilled with pacman. Up-to-date packages available directly from the repos? Oddball programs available in the AUR that I’d normally have to manually download and compile? Awesome! I’m a one-way convert at this point even if I do have fond memories of the Debian world.

ArchLabs was a lucky find since my plan was to essentially recreate BunsenLabs bit by bit. Thanks for doing the work for me and introducing me to a lot of other lightweight desktop tools in the process!

Personal stuff: US resident. I enjoy reading Ligotti, Lovecraft, DFW, Bukowski, misc philosophy. I’m a half-assed Python programmer and a fan of the Godot game engine. I keep time on a 13 year old, beat-up Tama Swingstar kit that I spraypainted in my punk rock days and play chess from time to time. Pencil drawing, knife throwing, gardening, lockpicking. Nice to meet you!

3 Likes

That’s one of the main attractions to Arch based systems!

Welcome to ArchLabs, I too am a Lovecraft fan.

1 Like

Hey @GrimFrenzy , I used to do lock picking. And I do gardening now. In fact I got my seedlings going, just waiting for the ground to thaw and the snow to melt. Then it’s time to till and plant and transplant. So do you have a pick set and do you do any locksmithing? Oh, by the way, welcome aboard, I also love linux in case you have not figured that out. I also did knife and star throwing when I was practicing martial arts many moons ago.

1 Like

Welcome!

1 Like

Ayy, good to have another BL lover in the house

Welcome

1 Like

Hi @sevenday4, nice to meet you!