Beginner programming languages

Hope this wasn’t asked before; If one wants to start scripting/programming, what are the easiest to learn and some good resources to consider in ones journey…
Mind you, this would not be for a career, just as a hobby and perhaps contributions down the road.

Go is probably the simplest:

The only problem with it is that it’s (mis-)managed by Google:

Disclaimer: I can’t code.

1 Like

I’m not a programmer myself, I’m only doing bits and pieces or little tools for my own use, I always thought that Python is easier to grasp for a beginner mainly due to its syntax and you can learn allot just by looking at some examples then modify them.

1 Like

IMO the most friendly language is python. It also comes with a big number of libraries to choose from, and a great community. Whatever question you have, it’s likely to be answered on StackOverflow. If only it was faster… Among compiled languages, my latest discovery is Go. The learning curve is absolutely acceptable for a hobbyist coder. Online documentation is good enough to learn for free at home.

2 Likes

Maybe you just need to learn how to program in shell. Pick one shell, for example bash and start from there. Python is based on OO concepts, it might be a little challenging for beginners.

3 Likes

OOP, once understood, makes life unbelievably easy. For some reason it comes out of fashion, but class inheritance is the only thing I’m missing in Go.

2 Likes

True, especially when you work on a fairly large project. It makes coding and maintenance much easier.

2 Likes

Back in the day it was C and C++, but now a days just a little scripting in shell. I do like bash for the little scripts myself. Played around with one of my scripts yesterday and added a install / uninstall script, then changed the main script as some of the stuff wasn’t needed anymore.
https://github.com/Whinery/Hosts-Updater

3 Likes