ArchLabs Linux

Bash Functions

Who uses bash functions in their .bashrc (if using bash)?

This thread just to share and talk about various bash functions.

Info: https://ryanstutorials.net/bash-scripting-tutorial/bash-functions.php

I found a great bash one liner that uses zathura and ghostscript to convert man pages to pdf via a dmenu search. Im not very good at bash scripting so the bash function worked well for this. I like to print info out an keep a hard copy file on some man pages and being able to put them in a pretty looking pdf file and print straight away is really handy.

so here is the function im using, you could probably turn this into a script but im unsure how to do it.

man2pdf () {
man -k . | awk '{ print $1 " " $2 }' | dmenu -i -p man | awk '{ print $2 " " $1 }' | tr -d '()' | xargs man -t | ps2pdf - - | zathura -
}

More info on the command here http://www.bashoneliners.com/oneliners/271/

4 Likes

Nicee @s7l . Might be usefull, just did a fresh AL install / bash in Sakura.

1 Like

Nice;

I assume you have you tried this ArchLabs. I get “-t is not a valid option for man” error, and “man man” confirms it’s not an option. Arch may be using a different version of man than Void. I’ll have to try it on ArchLabs later.

you could probably turn this into a script but im unsure how to do

just put the command that defines the function in a bash script - an oh so un-elligant example:

#!/bin/bash
man -k . | awk '{ print $1 " " $2 }' | dmenu -i -p man | awk '{ print $2 " " $1 }' | tr -d '()' | xargs man -t | ps2pdf - - | zathura -

exit 0;

Save it and make it executable. That function shouldn’t be too difficult since it’s a one-liner.

I use this command:

man foo | col -b -l80 >> foo.txt

to make a nicely formatted text file of a man page.

That could probably be converted to a function as well.

2 Likes

@PackRat

Oops i was on debian when i did this, sorry. Im now on Archlabs and it is not working.